Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Celebration of Dorfan/Hitlin Panofsky Prize, 13 January 2016


SLAC Conferences, Workshops & Symposiums > Celebration of Dorfan/Hitlin Panofsky Prize, 13 January 2016

Celebration of Dorfan/Hitlin Panofsky Prize
Wednesday, 13 January 2016, 1:30 PM
Kavli Auditorium
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Color Stripe
The APS DPF announced the 2016 Panofsky Prize to the leaders of the two B Factory communities centered at SLAC and KEK. This prize is to be awarded in the spring of 2016 to Jonathan Dorfan and David Hitlin from the PEP-II/BaBar and to Steve Olsen and Fumihiko Takasaki from KEKB/Belle.
We are pleased to announce that the SLAC laboratory is planning to celebrate the stories of Jonathan and David with the PEP-II accelerator and the BaBar detector communities, and the extraction of the science. The celebration for the SLAC hosted community will take place in the new SLAC SUSB Building 53 on the afternoon of January 13, 2016, with talks in the new Panofsky Auditorium, followed by a light reception in the lobby outside. This gathering will begin at approximately 1:30 pm. All who contributed to these stories are invited to come to this celebration. Please bring this notice to the attention of your colleagues who were associated with the BaBar or PEP-II and who may have dropped out of contact. Spouses are welcome. It would help the planning, if you do plan to come, would you please register, thank you. More information on the program will be available on this site soon.
If you are unable to attend but wish to write a short paragraph to share, please send it to John Seeman at
We look forward to seeing you at SLAC on the afternoon of January 13, 2016.

Event Organizing Committee:
David Leith, David MacFarlane, Aaron Roodman, John Seeman (chair), Bill Wisniewski

Those intending to join us at SLAC, please register.


Video 1 | Video 2

SLAC Today:
Photo Gallery (login)

SLAC SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park, CA
Operated by Stanford University for the U.S. Dept. of Energy